‘Brock stars’ shine at College’s Gala Awards

19 September 2017

All News

Outstanding students and their achievements were celebrated at Brockenhurst College’s Gala Awards on Friday.

In total, 38 students were honoured at the ceremony in the College’s main hall, which was attended by students, staff, parents, supporters and sponsors.

Isaac Hadfield from New Milton picked up the coveted Student of the Year Award, sponsored by Waterside-based GEO Specialty Chemicals, for his outstanding overall performance both in and out of class.

The eighteen-year-old former Ballard School pupil is about to begin studying Philosophy, Politics and Economics at the prestigious University of Oxford.

Isaac said: “I chose Brock because of the extra freedom the College gives you. I was done with ‘school-school’ – I didn’t want that… Looking back, I believe you get out of Brock what you put in. It’s a nice balance of support and freedom.”

Abbie Wise from Lymington was named Student Ambassador of the Year, and Beck Renouf, also from Lymington, won the Chris Campbell Memorial Prize for outstanding coursework.

Meanwhile, Physics teacher Alex Crutchley won Teacher of the Year, as voted for by the Students’ Union, and Brendan McCusker won Community Teacher of the Year based on learner feedback.

The evening began with a drinks reception before guests were invited to take their seats.

They also ate a two-course meal prepared and served by students from the College’s on-campus restaurant MJ’s.

Principal Di Roberts CBE said: “These Gala Awards celebrate the success of students who have achieved so much in their time at Brock – they have truly earned the title ‘Brock stars’.

“I look forward to following their continuing success as they progress to making a very meaningful contribution to society,” she added.

Sponsors of the event comprised: Chewton Glen, Bishops Printers, Norco GRP, GEO Specialty Chemicals, Doughty Engineering, Ratio, Southampton Solent University, and Professor David Roberts.

All awards were presented by Di Roberts and Chair of Governors Graham Beards.


Full list of winners:

Access to Higher Education Student of the Year   Ruth Woodnutt

Apprentice of the Year (16-18)   Chris Moat

Apprentice of the Year 19+   Jess Bedding

Art, Design and Photomedia Student of the Year   Saskia Norris

Creative Arts and Media (Vocational) Student of the Year   Jake Van Den Bogaerde

Paul White Memorial Cup   Thea Joyce & Jack Ellis

Business Services Learner of the Year   Wayne Taylor from Sal Marine

Computer Science and IT Student of the Year (Sponsored by Ratio)   Dan Colmer

Construction Student of the Year    Morgan Sellamuthu

Early Childhood, Health, Care and Professional Studies Student of the Year   Olivia Bishop

Lesley Errington Trust Award   Joe McCombe

Engineering Student of the Year   Sean Fraser

English Student of the Year (Sponsored by Professor David Roberts)   Bella Wright

Enrichment Student of the Year   Katarina Fabryova (basketball enrichment)

EPQ Student of the Year   Katie Niekirk

Foundation Studies Student of the Year   Emily Cutler

Functional Skills Student of the Year   Adam Coleman

Higher Education Student of the Year  Olivia Warner

Hospitality, Tourism and Vocational Business of the Year (Sponsored by Chewton Glen)   Fern Lumb

Chris Campbell Memorial Prize  Beck Renouf

Robert Jones Memorial Award  Tom Rixon

Humanities and Modern Foreign Languages Student of the Year   Anna Nguyen

International Student of the Year   Gabriela Tverdohleb

Marine Engineering Student of the Year (Sponsored by Norco GRP Ltd)   Ed Cahill

Mathematics Student of the Year (Sponsored by Doughty Engineering)   Joshua Farrell

Performing Arts and Music Student of the Year   Cayton Francis

Service Industries Student of the Year   Abbie Walker

Nathan Ridler Memorial Award   Emma Perriam

Science Student of the Year (Geo Specialty Chemicals)   Emma Perriam

Social Sciences and Business Student of the Year   Mani Goyal

Sports Student of the Year   Sol Bower

Student Ambassador of the Year   Abbie Wise

Emily Longley Memorial Award   Hannah Read & Sam Colombo

SU Student of the Year   Thea Joyce

Employer of the Year   Cyclex

Brockenhurst College Student of the Year (Business/Apprentice) (Sponsored by Norco GRP Ltd)   Karen Johnston

Brockenhurst College Student of the Year (Sponsored by Geo Specialty Chemicals)   Isaac Hadfield

Community Teacher of the Year   Brendan McCusker

Teacher of the Year   Alex Crutchley