Brock STEM Awards recognises top students

Brock STEM Awards recognises top students

High-flying second year STEM students from Brockenhurst College were honoured at the College’s annual STEM Awards recently.

The twilight event was sponsored by Brock’s local industry partners: Fawley-based GEO Specialty Chemicals and Lymington-based Bridgeworks.

It saw 25 students pick up gold or silver awards, along with cash prizes, across the full range of STEM subjects.

Winners earned their awards for a variety of reasons, but all showed dedication, commitment and hard work in their studies.

Graham Dunkley from GEO and David Trossell from Bridgeworks presented the certificates, along with £50 for gold and £25 for silver.

Graham Dunkley said afterwards: “GEO Speciality Chemicals is very pleased to be associated with Brockenhurst College and particularly the STEM Awards.  I would like to congratulate the award winners for all their hard work and efforts.”

Meanwhile, David Trossell from Bridgeworks said: “Young people are the future of our country and the economy, so the achievements we recognise tonight are really encouraging.”

The ceremony, which was held at the College’s new STEM Centre, was also attended by Principal Di Roberts CBE and Assistant Principal Ann Johnson.

Ann Johnson said: “As well as extending my congratulations to the students who won awards, I wish to thank our sponsors whose contribution has made this event a real success.”

You can see the full list of awards and award winners below.


Gold awards Sponsored by GEO Speciality Chemicals:

Biology A Level Dahria Kuyser
Chemistry A LevelAlex Forster
Physics A LevelNathan McKeown-Luckly
Environmental Science A LevelHayley Roberts
Geology A LevelElissa Gillies
BTEC Applied Science Josh Hooper
Maths A LevelBruna Masset
Maths Further A LevelPedro Xiao
Maths- Uses Emily Duckett


Gold awards sponsored by Bridgeworks:

Engineering BTECSam Richards
Extended Project for EngineeringAlistair Haddow
Electronics A LevelDuncan White
Design and technology A LevelOthello Carr-Jones
Computing  BTECTom Cunningham
Computing  A LevelRalph Roberts

Silver awards Sponsored by GEO Speciality Chemicals:

Biology A LevelReem Aboushousha
Chemistry A LevelHarry Crosswell
Physics A LevelZoe Farrant
Maths A LevelCarys Aspden

Silver awards sponsored by Bridgeworks:

Engineering BTECAnthony Asciak
Extended Project for EngineeringSami Helali
Electronics A LevelConnor Wainman
Design and technology A LevelJoshua Li
Computing  BTECDaniel Ragettli
Computing  A LevelAdam Parham