2020 Brockenhurst College Gala Awards goes ahead online  

2020 Brockenhurst College Gala Awards goes ahead online  

Close up of trophies and scrolls on tableThe Brockenhurst College Gala Awards ceremony recognising students’ achievements was staged across the College’s social media channels on Wednesday evening.

Nominees, staff, students and friends of Brock watched as the College’s Instagram, Facebook and Twitter accounts lit up with news of winners and personal posts of congratulation from well-wishers.

Proceedings began with an opening video message from the Principal, Di Roberts CBE, who talked about the unique challenges of 2020 and commended staff and students for their efforts in the face of adversity.

The night’s main business then kicked off with a flurry of award introductions and winner announcements, which were accompanied by pictures of winners or short acceptance speech videos.

The big winner of the night was 2020 leaver Kathryn Brooks, who took the coveted title of Student of the Year, winning a £100 Amazon voucher.

Kathryn, who achieved A*, A*, A in A Levels Biology, Chemistry and Maths, was described by her teachers as ‘academically very strong and a gregarious student, always willing to help her fellow learners’.

The 18-year-old former Noadswood School pupil, who now studies Biomedical Sciences at the University of Oxford, said: “I am delighted to win this award. I have really valued my time at Brock, and it means a great deal to be recognised in this way.

“I chose Brockenhurst College because I instantly liked the friendly style of the teachers and students that I met during an open day.  The teachers and lead staff are encouraging and motivating, while also providing challenges, but most importantly they are approachable.

“I set my sights high knowing I wanted to apply to Oxford and my teachers encouraged me to do so wholeheartedly. It really helped being able to sit the BMAT entrance exam for Oxford locally at Brock too.”

Meanwhile, the Access to Higher Education Student of the Year award went to Rosa Quental, who according to her citation impressed teachers with her quiet dedication and ability to juggle family and employment commitments with learning.

Rosa, who is working to become a nurse and scored 100% attendance across all her classes, also won a £50 Amazon voucher.

Principal Di Roberts CBE said afterwards: “My warmest congratulations go to all the award winners, as well as all of those in contention for awards who pushed the winners all the way.

“The patience, resilience and fortitude of all our students and staff in the face of this year’s unique challenges has been nothing short of extraordinary. I am very proud of each and everyone.”

You can see the full list of winners below.


Brockenhurst College (sixth form) Student of the YearKathryn Brooks
Access to Higher Education Student of the YearRosa Quental
Apprentice (16-18) of the YearThomas Pollard
Apprentice (19+) of the YearMax Purton
A Level Art, Design & Photomedia Student of the YearLiu Xiaoyu (Shaw)
Vocational Creative Arts & Media Student of the YearZachary Chambers
Humanities & Modern Foreign Languages Student of the YearRhys Hooper
Computer Science, IT & Vocational Business Student of the YearMateusz Pawlaczyk
Construction Student of the YearAshley Hannan
Early Childhood & Health Student of the YearRosie Gibson
Engineering Student of the YearTashinga Majirapanze
English Student of the YearTilly Montague
Enrichment Student of the YearJack Elston
Foundation Studies Student of the YearLuke Fry
Functional Skills Student of the YearRobert Crabb
Higher Education Student of the YearNicola East
International Student of the YearLin Tianluan (Frank)
Mathematics Student of the YearLizzy Salter
PACE Student of the YearAaron Prole
Performing Arts & Music Student of the YearMeisje Weldon
Service Industries Student of the YearKai Waterfield
Science Student of the YearMatthew Dyson
Social Sciences & Business Student of the YearEvie Cunningham
Sport Student of the YearKabila Griffiths
Student Ambassador of the YearGeorgiana Jbanca
Employer of the YearSonnaz Ltd


Paul White Memorial CupJade Lomax
Lesley Errington Trust AwardOliver Shepherd
Nathan Ridler Memorial AwardFinley Watton and
Sara Allport
Emily Longley Memorial AwardRebecca Kirwan-Devlin
Robert Jones Memorial AwardAbigail Tanner