Brockenhurst College STEM Awards ceremony recognises students’ achievements

9 February 2022

All News

L2R: Engineering lecturer John Patterson, winner Heidi Dixon-Wright and event sponsor David Trossell from Bridgeworks

Outstanding students aiming for careers in Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics (STEM) fields were recognised and celebrated at the Brockenhurst College STEM Awards last Wednesday evening.

Winners from across the full spectrum of STEM subjects collected gold or silver awards, along with Amazon vouchers worth either £100 or £50 for their dedication, commitment and hard work.

Each one also received a detailed citation from the teacher who nominated them, which in many cases will help support their applications to some of the country’s most prestigious research-led universities.

The twilight event was sponsored by local industry partners, Hythe-based GEO Specialty Chemicals and Lymington-based Bridgeworks.

Assistant Principal Guy Francis hosted the ceremony in the College’s Main Hall, presenting 27 awards in total.

Gold award winner for Level 3 Engineering, Heidi Dixon-Wright, who is from Poole, said: “I was honoured to be the recipient of this prestigious award and it means a lot to me.

“Brock has enabled me to grow into the student I am today and has encouraged me to follow my aspirations to become an Engineer.

“After a gap year of travelling, I’m hoping to undertake an Engineering apprenticeship.”

Gold award winner for A Level Geology, Amy Helm, who is from Christchurch, said: “I feel super proud of myself for achieving the Geology Award at the STEM Awards; it shows that all the hard work I have put into my studies has paid off.

“I think Brock is an excellent place to study. It has a variety of opportunities for students, plus the teachers are super passionate and do everything they can to help and support you during your studies.

“After college I want to study Paramedic Science at university because I want to be able to help others and make a difference in their lives.”

L2R: Head of Curriculum for Science Rachel Hughes with Amy Helm

Also in attendance were special guests John and Marion Greenwood from Lyndhurst who fund a STEM bursary at the College.

The Greenwood Bursary pays for a student who faces financial hardship to study a STEM-related university degree and covers their entire tuition fees for three years of their course.

Guy Francis said afterwards: “Here at Brock we have a rich culture of teaching, learning and progression excellence right across the full range of STEM subjects.

“This is evidenced not just by this awards ceremony but by our STEM Academy, our STEM Centre, our industry partners and the Greenwood Bursary as well.

“I congratulate all of tonight’s winners and look forward to following their progress through university and beyond into industry where I’m sure they will continue to shine.”

You can see the full list of winners below.


Awards Sponsored by GEO Speciality Chemicals:

Biology A Level  (Gold) Jacob Pithers
Biology A Level (Silver) Oliver Eyre
Chemistry A Level (Gold) Claire Holloway
Chemistry A Level (Silver) Jemima Cary
Physics A Level (Gold) Thomas Nguyen
Physics A Level (Silver) Finn Doig
Environmental Science A Level (Gold) Molly Gowar
Environmental Science A Level (Silver) Marieta Linettej
Applied Science Level 3 A Level equivalent (Gold) Melissa Duffy
Applied Science Level 3 A Level equivalent (Silver) Eleanor Smith
Geology A Level (Gold) Amy Helm
Geology A Level (Silver) George Pole
Maths A Level (Gold) Thomas Nguyen
Maths A Level  (Silver) Annelie Davis
Further Maths A Level (Gold) Claire Holloway
Further Maths A Level  (Silver) Marcus Round


Awards Sponsored by Bridgeworks:

Engineering Level 3 (Gold) Heidi Dixon-Wright
Engineering  Level 3 (Silver) Jack Newcomb
Electronics A Level (Gold) Benjamin Reavell
Electronics A Level (Silver) Mei Yee Do
Product Design A Level (Gold) Keagan Love
Product Design A Level (Silver) Tom Rogers
IT  Level 3 (Gold) Jack Gray
IT Level 3 (Silver) Jack Chrisp
Computer Science  A Level (Gold) Annelie Davis
Computer Science  A Level (Silver) Benjamin Reavell
IT Level 3 A Level equivalent (Gold) Jack Chiplin